# Frontline Education data breach via exploited third-party software vulnerability exposes school district employee SSNs

> Frontline Education, a K-12 HR and workforce-management software vendor, disclosed a breach in which its security team identified, on August 14, 2026, a vulnerability in a third-party software product that allowed unauthorized access to a portion of its environment. Exposed data includes Social Security numbers, email addresses and physical addresses of school district employees; at least one district reported 1,210 impacted employees and the total number of districts and individuals is undisclosed.

- **Published:** 2026-10-02T00:00:00Z
- **Last reviewed:** 2026-10-02T00:00:00Z
- **Canonical:** https://intel.threadlinqs.com/threat/TL-2026-2844
- **ID:** TL-2026-2844
- **Severity:** HIGH
- **Category:** DATA_BREACH
- **Status:** ACTIVE
- **Detections:** 9 · **IOCs:** 9 (full data via the Threadlinqs MCP server — Purple tier)

## Description

Frontline Education (Frontline Technologies Group LLC, Exton, PA), an edtech administration and workforce-management provider whose suite spans Human Capital Management (Absence & Time, Recruiting, Professional Growth, Central, HRMS, Analytics), Student Management and Business Operations (ERP), began notifying school districts on October 1, 2026 that it suffered a data breach. Notification emails were sent from frontline@notifications.cyberscout.com, and district administrators confirmed them as legitimate. According to BleepingComputer (published October 2, 2026), Frontline's statement reads: "On August 14, 2026, our security team identified a vulnerability in a third-party software product we use that allowed unauthorized access to a portion of the environment." Frontline has not named the application, has not given a CVE, and has not stated when unauthorized access first occurred. A secondary summary (SecOpsNews) states that attackers exploited the vulnerability and that employee information was stolen.

The exposed data is employee PII: Social Security numbers, email addresses and physical addresses. Per the OffSeq summary of the notice, all employees at affected school districts were impacted; both adults and minors are covered by the offered protection services. At least one district reported 1,210 impacted employees; no districts are named in the source and the total number of districts and individuals is undisclosed, so downstream scope across Frontline's customer base (the vendor states it supports over 4.1 million users daily) is unknown. Because the compromised data belongs to district employees held by a shared vendor, a single vendor-side intrusion fans out to many independent districts, which is the defining third-party / trusted-relationship risk of this incident.

Frontline states that it investigated with an independent cybersecurity firm (unnamed), remediated the vulnerability, engaged law enforcement and took steps to further reinforce the security of its systems. It covers notification and protection costs unless a district opts out, and offers impacted adults two years of free credit monitoring and identity-theft protection through TransUnion, plus cyber monitoring services for minors. The notice directs districts to www.frontline-transunion.com or 833-516-8792, with an October 16, 2026 opt-out deadline for districts. No threat actor, malware family, ransom demand, extortion claim, network IOC or leaked-data sale has been reported as of October 2, 2026; attribution and motivation are unknown.

Vendor posture context: Frontline publishes SOC 2 Type II, FERPA/HIPAA/COPPA/CCPA alignment, Texas RAMP certification, NIST CSF use and an AWS-based platform in five datacenters across the US and Canada, with data encrypted in transit and on its infrastructure. These pages do not state whether the breached environment or third-party product is part of that AWS platform. UpGuard's external rating (B, 792/950, updated October 2, 2026) lists no prior breach history and notes external hygiene findings (no CSP, HTTP not redirecting to HTTPS, no HSTS, no DNSSEC, jQuery 2.2.4); these are generic attack-surface observations and are NOT stated as the breach vector.

Defender expectations: secondary phishing and identity fraud using the exposed SSN/contact data, including phishing that impersonates the breach notice or credit-monitoring enrollment. Verify enrollment links only against district communication and the sender domain notifications.cyberscout.com.

Analyst note: ATT&CK mapping is limited to what the sourcing supports. Exploitation of a third-party software vulnerability for access and theft of employee records are stated; collection and exfiltration mappings are inferred from the stated outcome (data stolen) and carry low confidence.

## MITRE ATT&CK

- T1190 Exploit Public-Facing Application
- T1199 Trusted Relationship
- T1213 Data from Information Repositories
- T1005 Data from Local System

## Sources

- [Frontline Education breach exposes school district employee data - BleepingComputer](https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/frontline-education-data-breach-impacts-school-district-employees/)
- [Frontline Education breach exposes school district employee data - OffSeq Threat Radar](https://radar.offseq.com/threat/frontline-education-breach-exposes-school-district-employee-data-065aa1af47404b1d)
- [BleepingComputer Frontline Education breach - SecOpsNews issue #74677](https://github.com/SecOpsNews/news/issues/74677)
- [Frontline Education breach exposes school district employee data - NetManage IT](https://blog.netmanageit.com/frontline-education-breach-exposes-school-district-employee-data/)
- [Frontline Education breach exposes school district employee data - We Fix PC](https://we-fix-pc.com/2026/10/02/frontline-education-breach-exposes-school-district-employee-data/)
- [Frontline Education breach exposes school district employee data - Simply Secure Group](https://simplysecuregroup.com/frontline-education-breach-exposes-school-district-employee-data/)
- [Frontline Education - Commitment to Security](https://www.frontlineeducation.com/about/commitment-to-security)
- [Frontline Education Security Rating, Vendor Risk Report, and Data Breaches - UpGuard](https://www.upguard.com/security-report/frontlineeducation)
- [Frontline completes SOC 2](https://www.frontlineeducation.com/news/frontline-completes-soc2/amp)
- [Frontline Technologies Group LLC d/b/a Frontline Education - student data privacy document (WSBOCES)](https://www.wsboces.org/wp-content/uploads/Frontline-Technologies-Group-LLC-dba-Frontline-Education.pdf)

## Full data

Detection queries (Splunk SPL / Microsoft KQL / Sigma) and IOC values require the Threadlinqs MCP server (Purple tier): https://intel.threadlinqs.com/mcp

Canonical: https://intel.threadlinqs.com/threat/TL-2026-2844
